Parish of St Peter Port
St. Peter Port is the capital of Guernsey as well as the main port. As well as being a parish, St. Peter Port is a small town consisting of many picturesque steep narrow streets and steps. The town is the main shopping and has three marinas The parish of St Peter Port cover the whole of town in addition to a piece of land to the north that was once marshland, Fort George and village de Putron, and a stretch of cliff extending to Fermain Bay. St Peter Port harbour is sheltered from the prevailing westerly and southerly winds by Guernsey itself, whilst Herm and Sark minimise the effect of an easterly wind.
Havelet Bay is a 5 minute walk from the centre of St Peter Port. There are 3 tidal swimming pools located at the far end of the bay. Nineteenth century tunnels in the adjacent cliffs, enlarged by the German occupying forces during the Second World War, have been adapted as an aquarium and a military museum.
Castle Cornet is now joined to St Peter Port by a raised stone pier which forms the southern arm of the harbour. It was built early in the 13th century and was the residence of the Governors of the island. It was captured by the French three times; first in the reign of Edward I, then in 1338 and finally in 1344. During the Civil War (1642 – 19th December 1651) Guernsey declared for Parliament but the army in the castle, led by Governor Sir Peter Osborne supported King Charles. More than 10,000 cannonballs were fired from the guns into St Peter Port, causing considerable destruction. The powder magazine was struck by lightning in 1672 and the castle was badly damaged by the explosion but subsequently rebuilt.
Castle Cornet, Open daily from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Model Yacht Pond
The model yacht pond was first opened at 3.30pm on 20th June 1887 by the daughter of the then Lieutenant Governor, Lt General J. Elkington. Miss Elkington launched a steam driven model named the Wolf. It has been destroyed and rebuilt twice. During the 1st World War it was used as a French seaplane base and the 2nd World War as a vehicle park. During this time it was also used for salt manufacture. It was flooded with seawater which was then allowed to evaporate and the salt was scrapped up, bagged and distributed.
Victor Hugo's house of exile; the French writer lived as a political refugee in Guernsey during 1855 – 1870, where he wrote ‘Les Misérables’. The publication of a successful volume of poetry enabled him to purchase Hauteville House from William Ozanne in 1856. The house is owned by the city of Paris, guided tours only for the house. Visit to the gardens only are free of charge. Hauteville House is located up the hill from the bus station along Cornet and Hauteville streets. The French writer was a resident in exile from Paris for 14 years, and the house we see today is as Hugo decorated it and then left it in 1870. It's open for guided tours only.
The 100 ft. tower was built on the site of a menhir, La Pierre L’Hyvreuse, from money (£2,000) raised from
Guernsey Museum & Art Gallery is located a short but steep 15-minute walk from the Esplanade's roundabout up to St. Julian's Avenue. The Museum is open daily 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. The gardens are free.
Bailiwick of Guernsey Millennium Tapestry is open Monday through Saturday, 10 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
St Peter Port
St Pierre du Bois
Guernsey , St Peter Port - YouTube